Mr.Beer Community
Sign in to follow this  
JDFarrer

St. Patricks Irish Stout

I have never brewed a stout before. I am a little nervous. I purchased the St. Patricks Irish Stout mix. Should I stick stricly with the recipe on the can or are there some tricks to make it turn out amazing? It came with a BrewMax LME SoftPack Robust package. Should this be used? If so, the whole package? I am new to this home brewing, I have brewed 2 batches in the past, a blueberry and cherry wheat and neither seemed to turn out that great. Any tips would be greatly appreciated.

Welcome to the Borg! People have had good results with the St Pat's mix, and the LME should make it even better. For now, I recommend sticking to the Mr Beer recipe and instructions until you feel comfortable in making variations. This will give you a baseline for comparison to the changes that you will try later.

Later, one thing that I like in stouts is to add a quart of 100% cherry juice, making sure there are no preservatives and that it is pasteurized, after one week of fermentation, and then allowing two more weeks of fermentation. Then, allow 4 weeks for carbonating and conditioning in the bottle, maybe more, before expecting a polished beer. The added cherry will not taste much like cherry, but adds a nice richness.

"Foothiller" post=352056 said:

Later, one thing that I like in stouts is to add a quart of 100% cherry juice, making sure there are no preservatives and that it is pasteurized, after one week of fermentation, and then allowing two more weeks of fermentation. Then, allow 4 weeks for carbonating and conditioning in the bottle, maybe more, before expecting a polished beer. The added cherry will not taste much like cherry, but adds a nice richness.

Interesting, thanks for sharing this idea/technique.

I order 2 batch of the st PATRICK so. DO you think it will rays the ABV? PUTTING IN THE CHERRY JUICE