Mr.Beer Community
Sign in to follow this  
Incognitum

Advice on brewing my first Wheat

I'm planning to do a 2 gallon batch of a Wheat Beer next week. It's my first time brewing this style and I'm just starting to put together a recipe.

I was originally planning to buy the Bavarian Weissbier, but then I got to thinking about just skipping the Mr. Beer HME altogether and just use about 3lbs of Wheat DME in place of it.

I also picked up 1oz of Saaz and 1oz of Hallertauer hops as well as 1oz of Coriander Seed and 1oz of Sweet Orange Peel.

Could I make a decent Wheat with just the DME, Hops, Coriander and Orange?

This would be my first batch without using Mr. Beer's HME as a base. Any suggestions on the best way to use my Saaz and Hallertauer hops for this style?

I'm also curious about how much of the Sweet Orange Peel and Coriander to use in my 2 gallon batch.

Thanks for any insight.

Depending on the style of wheat beer you want to make, you have a few ways to go. If you want a Belgian Wit, use the DME, 0.5 oz of Saaz at 60 min, and 1/4 oz Orange peel and 1/4 oz crushed coriander with 5 min left in the boil. Use a neutral yeast, ie US-05.

If you want a Hefeweizen, skip the spices, and instead of Saaz, use 0.5 oz of Hallertau and Wyeast 3068 or WLP-300 yeast.

Easy peasy.

Good luck!

Edit: oh, and make sure to start with as much water as you can (at least a couple gallons) for your boil.

Do you have Qbrew? If not you should. You can absolutely make a good beer with that combination.

Are you going to be using a Wheat Yeast with this?

Russki, I'm going for the Belgian Wit. Can I put the Orange Peel and Coriander into a muslin sack? Also, do I pull it out at flameout or should it sit in the wort any longer? Thanks for all your advice.

HazardousBrewer, I'm using BrewersFriend.com to put together the recipe. Right now, it comes in about 5.8% with 10 IBUs and 4 SRM.

Sounds like it could be a pretty sweet beer.