Mr.Beer Community
Sign in to follow this  
stevenf

Finally got to taste my first batch

My first batch was CAL. Three weeks in the LBK including 2 1/2 days cold crashing in the fridge. Bottled in the 1 liter PET bottles and primed with C&H cane sugar per instructions. Finally got to have a bottle of it on Wednesday with a fancy italion dish the wife made for dinner. I'm a newbie so I don't know all the fancy beer lingo so I'll just say it, Holy Mollie this stuff is pretty darned good compared to commercial beer. Very impressed indeed. Flavor was awesome. I thought it could have been slightly more carbonated but no complaints. I must admit that I do like a dash of salt in my beer usually so the first pour was without and the second was with a dash. I would have taken a picture of it in the glass but I was in too big a hurry to taste, then it just kept going down. Now I'm waiting on my Pilsner to finish conditioning and I think I'll give the rest of the CAL another week or two and try another bottle.

I can't wait to turn on the air conditioner and stabilize the temp in my house so I can brew some more.

Congratulations, man! The first brew is definitely an experience. We just finished drinking up my Czech Pils and are working on some Aztec Cerveza and Heavy McWee.

The dash of salt thing is intriguing. Do you do this with every beer or just yellow fizzy ones?

Keep on' brewing! :cheers:

Well to be honest I've never strayed much from the light commercial beers and I find them lacking in flavor and body usually. I like adding the salt to those type beers because for me it adds just a little extra to the flavor. Just a dash is all I like. Too much ruins it. I'm broadening my horizons a bit with the Mr. Beer and want something more than just commercial light beer. It's just kinda boring. I really like the fact that I made something myself that I wouldn't hesitate to share with a friend.