Mr.Beer Community
Sign in to follow this  
canam

Oatmeal Stout suggestions

I am a beginner brewer and have done 2 beers so far, the American Lite and I just bottled the October fest with a smooth Softpack. I am about to start an Irish Stout with a Robust Softpack and wanted to use oatmeal. Any suggestions on what to use?

I made a great oatmeal stout awhile back w/ zested orange & Sumatra coffee that turned out very nice. I "
toasted "Old Fashion" oats in the oven then steeped them.

I recently attempted the same toasted the oats with brown sugar & cinnamon on top then steeped them. We'll know soon how it turns out! Good luck!!!
[attachment=12794]image_2013-04-13-3.jpg[/attachment]

I simply use Quaker "Old Fashion" Oats. Please don't make the mistake in using 1 minute... it will turn to mush on you. The Old Fashion Oats will hold up better while steeping... I would steep them about 15 minutes or so producing a slight milky texture. I toast them 1st because I like the toasted biscuit-like flavor you find in a Fat Tire.

I'm gonna say about 4 cups Andy... enough to fill a big cookie sheet. You really have to watch them in the oven... and stir them around on the cookie sheet from time to time.

"eurotexan" post=362870 said:

I'm gonna say about 4 cups Andy... enough to fill a big cookie sheet. You really have to watch them in the oven... and stir them around on the cookie sheet from time to time.

awesome, will take that into consideration on one of my many porters and stouts to come :gulp: and also how do you use a certain coffee and how much for a coffee flavored porter?