Mr.Beer Community
Sign in to follow this  
tbwrangler2000

New to homebrewing

Hello everybody.Im new to homebrewing and need a little inspiration i guess.So far i have made 5 batches of beer.I have started drinking 2 of the batches.Hop Head Red and Columbus Cascading Amber Ale.Im not very impressed so far the beer seems to lack flavor and body.I have conditioned these for 2 months and they are a little better than when they where 2 weeks old.I am having fun with this hobby but Im having a hard time spending all the money for ok beer.Is there something i can do different to make a more exciting beer or should i try a better beer making kit?All my beer just seems to be lacking something.I feel like im wasting time and money when i can go to the store and buy delicious beer for less money.

Well, there are a lot of things you can do to kick it up a notch. We recommed everyone do thise boring batches before going mad scientist. These, albeit somewhat lacking in taste, are good for teaching the basics. You can do batch's using grains to steep. This adds body, character, abv and better head/lacing. You can also start mixing in some DME or LME for added body/taste/abv etc. When doing this, u can start experimenting with hop additions for bitterness, flavor and aroma.

Brewing your own beer sometimes is just as expensive, sometimes more expensive than running down to the corner market and buying some piss beer. Brewing your own is not always about the cost, but it's about the enjoyment from creating your own beer, tinkering with amounts/flavors to create a beer that is yours, not some commercial swill.

I'm sorry to hear you are disappointed with your beers. I must say I was very disappointed with my first few also, then I started learning how to make my own. I'm still learning how, but I must say most the beer I make is so far above commercial crap I rarely drink any commercial shyte.