Mr.Beer Community
Sign in to follow this  
GoBucks64

Accessories

Hi, I'm just getting started. What accessories are worth purchasing from Mr. Beer and what can I do without? Is it worth buying a scratch and dent kit to be able to brew two batches at a time?

I bought a bottle capper and caps because I have several cases of large glass beer bottles left from brewing through a brew-on-premises place years ago. I was thinking about the bottle washer spigot attachment.

Also any feedback about the carbonation tabs vs. sugar primer?

THX EVERYONE

First and foremost get a hydrometer. It's the only true way to tell your beer is done fermenting and will be something you will use forever! The bottle washer is great and does a good job at cleaning the bottle crystal clear.

As far as the scratch and dent sale if you want to get a second LBK just spend the $10 for the LBK alone. If you want to build up any kind of decent pipeline you'll want at least 2 LBK's, but in actuality 3 or more is ideal. It just depends on how much your planning on drinking.

If they still have the recipes in the scratch and dent sale get some, it's a great price and in truth most of the cans end up dented in transport anyway. Hope this helps, good luck!!

EDIT: As far as carb tabs vs sugar goes, if your going to bottle carb, carb tabs are easier. If you are going to batch carb (which gives you a more consistent carb) then sugar is the way to go.

As I get experience I'll probably want to batch carb. Do you do it in the barrel?

I plan on continuing to drink a lot of beer. :chug:

What do you mean by the recipes with the scratch and dent? It comes with lite beer starter.

"GoBucks64" post=367298 said:

As I get experience I'll probably want to batch carb. Do you do it in the barrel?

I plan on continuing to drink a lot of beer. :chug: