Mr.Beer Community
Sign in to follow this  
JDFarrer

Classic American Light Deluxe

I am kind of new to brewing. I have done a few batches but they have all had a plasticy taste. I am going to try the American light in the next day or 2 and would like to know if there are any tips or tricks to make this mix good drinking. I have decided to use bottled water to avoid any chlorine and have the 1 liter Mr Beer bottles. Is there anything that should be added to this refill for ultimate flavor?
Thanks for any suggestions

[attachment=13448]Welcome01_2013-03-23_2013-05-19.gif[/attachment]

please give us your brew process you did not give us any info to help you out

I was just going to follow the directions on the refill, like I said I am new to this.

that is your first mistake they do not work very well

ferment == 21 days
carb == 14 days
condition at least 14 days longer is better

second you also my be fermenting at too high of a temp and/or sanitation issues

Chlorophenol

Tastes/Smells
Like:
Plastic, Vinyl, Iodine

Possible
Causes:
Using chlorinated tap water to brew
or rinse equipment is the most common cause for
plastic-like or medicinal flavors. Medicinal flavors
can also be the result of using cleanser or sanitizer
that is chlorine or iodine based. Some wild yeast will
contribute to a similar medicinal taste

Thank you. I have one that came with it so I was planning on adding it. Have you tried this refill? How is it? Do I want to let it ferment longer than 14 days?

I thought the same with the sterilization because I did use a bleach last time and rinsed with tap water, which the instructions said was acceptable. I now have a room in my house that stays between 67-70 degrees so that is where I will store it. Does metal spoons and whisks, etc cause odd flavor?