Mr.Beer Community
Sign in to follow this  
bigT

prohibition in the house - must brew out side!

My wife has informed me that I am banded from brewing inside. So I must now brew outside. What is your ideal setup for outside brewing? I've heard turkey fryers work well.

I have been using a bayou classic SP 10 for over 2 years. You can get them on amazon for around $40 I think.

I brew in in the garage using a turkey fryer and prefer it to working inside. I plan to brew an Irish Red Ale on Monday. I live in Texas and this will be my first brew day with warmer weather, I hope it isn't to hot.

:cheers:

Fight fire with fire... tell her she can't do her favorite hobby in da house until u can. Or.... find a new wife.... just sayin.. LOL

i'm using a banjo lots faster than my stove is/was. also, as part of my revenge, i cook on our covered front pourch. with a hearty "Hi HO, Bite ME, away!" (with apologizes to the lone ranger series) ;)

Just cut her off from you-know-what. Yeah, that'll show her! :laugh:

I assume you mean "banned"? Or were you actually banded by her like a carrier pigeon to mark her property? :lol: Couldn't resist.

Brew at night when she and the kids are asleep. That's what I do.

I brew where I want. The idea that the Interior of our dwelling is under her absolute control is ludicrous. However, turning on air vents and cleaning up after yourself is fully expected, and reasonable.

I brew on Sunday mornings, when the War Department is out grocery shopping.

She doesn't appreciate the "smell" (I call it "aroma"; choice of words makes a big difference) of boiling wort. But she does support my hobby, as she knows it gives me satisfaction and pleasure, so we compromise. It's my kitchen just as much as it's hers, and I don't have the means to brew outside.

Opening windows and using the vent fan help.