Mr.Beer Community
Sign in to follow this  
Alapai K

Beer tastes like apple juice. What went wrong???

I just cracked open a bottle of my first classic american light. Tastes a lot like apple juice. I let it frement in the Keg for 14 days, bottled at room temp for 14 days and fridge for 7 days. Not sure what happened. Please help!!!!

You need more room temp conditioning time. Take them back out of the fridge, then give them at least another 2 weeks at room temp. As a newbie, I did the exact same thing, followed this advice given to me on these forums, and it was SOOOOO much better.

Patience young grasshopper!

Regardless of what the Mr. Beer instructors say, it really needs to sit in the bottles at room temperature for a minimum of 4 weeks. You'd be surprised how much that cidery taste conditions out with extra conditioning.

I have most of the bottles still conditioning at room temp. its been 3 weeks now so one more week then good? thanks for all the help. how long do you typicaly chill the beer before drinking?

Borg folks often recommend a conditioning test on a first batch... try one bottle each week to taste how time improves beer. My first batch was also CAL, cidery taste disappeared after 8 weeks conditioning. Just had one at 11 weeks and it is much improved! Lest the yeasties do their thing for a while, and put more to work in a new batch of something interesting while you get a pipeline built up. They tell me a full pipeline makes the waiting easier!

I agree with the above statements. The CAL came out cidery for a lot of us until we let it sit and condition. My notes say that mine was pretty good at 6 or 7 weeks in the bottles.

As for how long to chill, you can chill 24 hours and pour it into a glass carefully (avoid pouring the sediment from the bottom of the bottle). If you can chill 2 or 3 days the sediment will stay put much better and make it easier to pour without getting that stuff in your glass.

Yup just needs more time.