Mr.Beer Community
Sign in to follow this  
ocarolina

Looking for a good summer brew recipe

First let me say, I am new here and brand new to brewing. My husband is the brewer in our house and he has been brewing for years. I am looking forward to learning how to brew myself, being that I am a professional chef. I do not want to be bashed, or made fun of for my tastes, but I am looking for a light summer brew and I really like weiss beers with lemon. If anyone has any recommendations, I am going to the brew store locally today. I am not a regular beer drinker, and do not like heavy beers. I am a classically French trained chef, and have a great palate, but I find that heavy beers tend to coat my palate too much, so I am looking for a lighter summer drink to enjoy in my tiki hut at home.
My husband grows Centennial hops in our yard, and I am not sure they are good for what I want to brew. Any suggestions?

There are 2 summer seasonals for sale now until they run out. I've not tried them but many have the Spring seasonal ready to drink.
Welcome to the borg and though we occasionally pick on commercial beer drinkers, it's all in fun and not meant to be mean.

It's cool you have hops growing. I wish I could but my climate wouldn't do them well.

Growing them is effortless - we are in zone 5 and they go dormant over winter, and kick back into growth in spring. I give them a regular organic fertilizer and I compost all my produce scraps. They literally grow on their own, and we have to regularly cut them back to keep them from coming up through the grass. We have to try to harvest them before the Japanese beetles are in full swing, or they like to have their own feast. I will check out the two beers, and see if they sound good. My husband has his own tastes for craft beers, and usually they do not coincide with mine. My favorite was a beer called Kristall from Weinkeller restaurant, but I think they went out of business years ago. That is what I want to try to make.