Mr.Beer Community
Sign in to follow this  
Grogg-this

Mexican Cerveza - Vinegar

Howdy All,
This is my first time posting. I am new to brewing but have been learning lot since I started.
This is my 3rd batch that and so far I have not had much success.
My First batch was the American Light that came with the Kit, it ended p tasting like watered down Busch Light.
Not great,but drinkable.

My Second batch, I got ahead of myself and tried the "Ole Mole Stout" Recipe (Without the Chile powder), and it tasted like gasoline. it took a more will power, but I was able to drink it as well. (But I was glad when it was gone).

Now I have just opened one of my 3rd batch "Mexican Cerveza", the only thing I put in this was a Booster pack.
It has a very strong vinegar taste. so much so, that I don't think I can bring myself to drink it. :sick:

Does anyone have an idea on how to get that taste out of there?
Any help would be appreciated.

Currently Fermenting:
Ruski Pilsner
Moose Drool Lager

Currently Bottle Carbonating:
St. Patrick's Irish Stout.

:borg: Welcome to the BeerBorg Information Center Torrey. You will be assimilated. Resistance is quite Futile: WE have beer.

humma! Sounds like a few issues here.
with your first batch... was it brewed strait up.. just the basic can, yeast, and water?
That would give you a "light Beer". after Testing your brewing abilities, we suggest adding a pound of DME or 1.1 pounds of LME to the basic for a little more body and flavor.
your second batch seems to have been fermented at too high a temp. That will lend to that taste.
Your 3rd batch may have grabbed an infection ~ specifically~ Lactobacilli. it gives the beer a vinigar taste. once that gets in there, well.. ew. it never mellows out. it's toast.
So, may I suggest you:
Wash your fermenter with Oxyclean (or knock off)...let it soak 1/2 hour filled with the mixture.
sanitize well... Star San is a good product...