Mr.Beer Community
Sign in to follow this  
Btech117

Can't believe I did this...

Ok So im fairly new to home brewing - and I started off probably above my head Im brewing 3 beers (stagered 1 week apart ) and Yesterday I started the 2013 Summer seasonal beer - I boiled the watter added the HME and filled to the line on the cask as instructed... Than I FORGOT TO add the yeast - im at work now and have my wife putting the yeast on it now.

My question is how bad did i mess this batch up as it has sat (less than 24 hours) with no yeast and just as Wort....

Any help would be appriciated

Most likely if sat, closed in undisturbed condition, it will be just fine.

the yeast packet also says to "Re hydrate it" however the instructions online say nothing about this...

Welcome, Btech. No serious harm done there. All should be well. You're off to a nice starting pace. WTG.

Just have her sprinkle it on. You can learn how to rehydrate on future batches. The beer will be fine.

Ok - She got it going for me - I assume i start my 2 weeks fermentation process as of Today's date ?

Also what does it mean by "Re hydrate " what are the benefits of this ?

and can someone tell me what LBK Means? I see allot of abbreviation on this forum but don't know what they mean do they have a link that could explain

LBK is Little Brown Keg...it is your barrel fermenter. There is another thread where the merits of rehydrating is being discussed. It is basically putting your yeast in water at a certain temperature before pitching it. I never do this others think it is detrimental not to do so. I will refer you to the other thread and let you make up your own mind.

Also you are correct, your fermenting time begins with the pitching of the yeast.

It will be fine. Sure don't have to worry about the pitching temp in this case!!

Yes, 2 weeks starts today but a lot of us (most) go three unless yo have a hydro and can take gravity readings.