Mr.Beer Community
Sign in to follow this  
Jeffross1968

Wow...is this mold?

After brewing I placed my 2 gallon keg in a cool dark spot in my house, and didn't look at it until today, 2 weeks later. I found white and green floating chunks on the top. Sure looks like mold. What do you think?

001_zpsd9f2db10.jpg

I was frankly afraid to taste it. Smells normal. I just don't have enough experience to tell you if it smells off.

So I tasted it...tastes flat and maybe a little off. I have only brewed one batch previously, so I don't have a good reference...

I'm no expert on this and have been very lucky so far but you can try sanitizing a strainer and slowly and carefully, skim this off without aerating the wort.
If it smells ok, it's possible that a longer than normal conditioning will settle the taste out. You've got nothing to lose at this point but a little extra time.

What exactly did you brew? Did you add anything into it? For example, certain products contain fat and don't belong in beer - chocolate bars, etc.

I used a Mr. Beer variety pack refill Pale Ale. Adding nothing that didn't come with it except for a Mr. Beer booster pack. Went exactly by the simple instructions.

I do have to say that the variety pack is probably 2 years old. Has been in a dark cupboard during that whole time, unopened.

That wouldn't matter. Nor if the yeast was old. Points to an infection of some type.

It still might be saved if you are willing to bottle and let sit a while. Like I said, you've got nothing more to loose at this point. If it smells good and has no real bad taste, longer conditioning might very well make this a drinkable brew.

I guess I'll try it. Like you said, nothing to lose. If it is an "infection", how was that likely to have occurred?

question for the experts: