Mr.Beer Community
Sign in to follow this  
jbags

Why the change to 3-4 conditioning?

I'm newly returned to the community after about 2.5 years away. In that time I've graduated to carboys, all grain brewing, and kegging.- still have the LBK but its definitely dusty and feeling unloved!

I notice everyone is telling the noobs to go 3 fermenter and 4 conditioning now. 2-2-2 was the party line last I logged in....why the change? As a noob I made good stuff with base MB kits adhering to 2-2-2., and even now I rarely ferment longer than 15 days bc most all ales will hit FG well before 21 days. Time is time and 6 total weeks is plenty of time for MBs low to med gravity kits no matter how you break it down.

mostly it's 'cause the noobs don't have a hydrometer so 3 weeks, it's a safe bet it's done. but 2 weeks conditioning/carbing just not enough

Actually, there isn't that much of a change.
We have found that 99.99% of all beers finish fermenting at the 21 day mark. Without a hydrometer reading, one just doesn't know for sure. Some are good at one week, others at two weeks. But how would you know? No test, "3" weeks.
The 2/2 part is still the same:
It takes about 2 weeks to carbinate
And
It takes about 2 weeks at an additional room temp to "clean up its act" and get rid of the "green" taste on average.
All this is to help the noobz. Once the get the basics and learn and feel comfortable with the process, then they can do it the way it works best for them.

I am still doing things the way I was taught when I started here 3.5 years ago. Works for me.

jbags~

I think...in principle...you're right. Many beers do ferment in the 2 weeks. Definitely not the 7 days Mr. Beer suggests. But the SUGGESTION of 3 weeks is a blanket to make sure all fermentation is complete, all clean-up is also resolved and to give the brewers the best chance to ensure they're getting the best quality they can.