Mr.Beer Community
Sign in to follow this  
Incognitum

Using a mini fridge to control ferm temps

For the first 6 months I spent brewing, I wasn't concerned much with controlling the temp of my fermenting wort. It's not that I didn't care, but it wasn't really an issue. Our central air unit keep everything at a decent temp.

Now it's summer and it's becoming more of a struggle to regulate temps. If the AC gets turned off turn during the day, or turned up or down much, it can cause problems.

I'm thinking of getting a mini fridge or dorm fridge and a temp controller to finally get some control over my beer. Has anyone done this? Is it as simple as plugging the fridge into the controller and the controller in the wall? I have no experience with anything like this, but if it's that simple, it would be a good option.

I ferment in the LBK's. I have up to four going at a time (two 5 gallon batches). I know a mini fridge won't hold all four LBK's... but would it hold 2?

I haven't looked at any of these at a store yet. I've browsed some photos online, but it's hard to get a feel for them.

Let me know if you have any experience doing this.

Thanks!

A lot depends on your space limitations. If you have the room for it, see if you can find a full-size fridge or freezer on Craigslist.

I personally like the STC-1000 which is $18-20 on Amazon. I use three of them and helped a brew buddy put a controller outlet box with one earlier this week. You have to be able (or have a friend who can) do some basic household wiring, but there's some very good online help available.

It's a dual temperature controller. You wire it into a standard 2-plug outlet that you mount in some kind of project box (either homemade or bought at Radio Shack). One (cool) outlet is for the freezer/fridge. Into the other (warm) outlet, you plug some kind of small heater and then put that heater inside the freezer.