Mr.Beer Community
Sign in to follow this  
Snowjob

Grain Storage

I will be doing a partial mash in the near future. Since I live over 60 miles from the nearest LHBS, I need to find the best option on storing the grains. I will be buying grains for 3 or 4 batches and since I do not have a grain mill at this time, the grains will be milled at the LHBS, I know this is not the best thing to do.

Is it best to just put the grains in plastic bins and leave at room temperature or should I find a way to put it in the refrigerator or freezer? And how long can I leave it?

"k9dude" post=388963 said:

Get this:

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B000U5NZ4I/ref=oh_details_o04_s00_i00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

I've been using one for over 2 years now and have made AG 5 batches with it. Milled grains have a shelf life of around 1 month and you should only freeze them if you have a vacuum sealer.

+1 to that Victoria/Corona style mill. It's nothing fancy, but it gets the job done. Then you can buy all the unmilled grains you like and store at cool room temps for a year or more.

BTW, before I got this mill, I was storing my milled grains in a tight plastic container in the freezer, after double wrapping them in plastic bags. Even after 6 months or more, they all seemed to work out okay, giving me satisfactory OG's and no rancid smell or taste that I could tell of.

"Joechianti" post=388970 said:

"k9dude" post=388963 said:

Get this:

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B000U5NZ4I/ref=oh_details_o04_s00_i00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

I've been using one for over 2 years now and have made AG 5 batches with it. Milled grains have a shelf life of around 1 month and you should only freeze them if you have a vacuum sealer.

+1 to that Victoria/Corona style mill. It's nothing fancy, but it gets the job done. Then you can buy all the unmilled grains you like and store at cool room temps for a year or more.