Mr.Beer Community
Sign in to follow this  
Btech117

IBU / SRM measurments

OK So I have a hydrometer that will tell me my ABV - But how does one measure the IBU and SRM (I assume there is a SRM color chart?) but your IBU is what im mostly wondering how to measure I mean a bitter beer to me may not be a bitter beer to you etc.

Is there a standard way to measure these 2?

(Yes im a NOOB)

it really won't tell you abv with out knowing og and fg. that scale on the hydrometer is a guesstimate scale. you use a program like q brew(free) and it will tell you your expected ibu, srm, and abv. once you know the og and fg you can do the math for abv . here's a good source for tools and such

http://www.thescrewybrewer.com/p/brewing-tools-formulas.html

The way to do that will also be by personal choice. You need to look at the brewing software that is available and pick one you like.
The ones I can think of off the top of my head are:
QBrew
Beersmith
Brewtoad(?) used to be Hopville
and I think there is one called Brewers Friend

Also you might like the beer style guideline for reference material; sorry I don't have a link for you but matbe someone can post it for you. :cheers:

If you don't mind spending $20 or $30 beersmith kicks rump. There are a lot of free softwares that are good and will get you by. I used to be partial to brewmate. But beersmith has a lot of incredible features.

Unless you like to manually enter MrB ingredients, I'd skip BrewToad. I used it when it was Hopville and when they went to 2.0 it sucked.

I have QBrew now and love it.

And for those willing to part with their money - there are labs that will take your finished beer and actually measure the IBUs and SRM for you. Not cheap, but the service is out there.