Mr.Beer Community
Sign in to follow this  
LordVader1897

Apple type taste and smell after fermentation???

Hello, let me start off by saying that I am new to home brewing. I have done one batch of "Grand Bohemian Czech

Pilsner" and now I am brewing "Dad's Favorite Cream Ale". The first one (czech), when I thought it was done fermenting before I bottled it, had a apple like smell, sort of like cider or apple juice to it. I new it had fermented for the two weeks it told me, and I used the hydrometer which said it was ready, so I bottled it. When it was ready I thought it had a slight taste and smell of apples still, but no one agreed with me so I thought maybe it was suppossed to. 

Now my "Dad's Favorite Cream Ale" that has been fermenting for 3 weeks I thought was ready to bottle but it has a slight apple smell and taste, however it is significantly less than I remember. The hydrometer says it is ready but I will try to wait longer. Also with this one, I used a booster which I had not used last time and both times I have used the sticky thermometer that pretty much stays at 72, but I dont check it in the middle of the night so it may drop. Also my next brew is "Vlad the Impale Ale" so does anyone have any pointers for that?

On a side note, last time I bottled, one bottle had some ashy looking stuff settled in the bottom, anyone know what caused this? I used the carbonation drops, I dont know if those or sugar is better. Sorry for the long post, thanks in advance for the help.

Normal questions - asked many times on these forums.

3-4.  3 weeks fermenting and 4 weeks in the bottle at room temp.  Then, put in the frig only what you're ready to drink in 2 or 3 days.  Drinking too early yields poor tasting brews.

Ferment lower.  Mid 60s are ideal.  It will climb up to 6-8 degrees when the fermentation is its most active, so mid-60s is best to start.