Mr.Beer Community
Sign in to follow this  
TimHitchings

Still unsure if it's time to bottle after 3 weeks in LBK

It's been 3 weeks in the LBK and the Stout has chunks of gunk on the top and tastes like vinger/apple cider.  This is my second batch and my first I didn't sit for 3 weeks and bottle for 4 weeks and was disappointed.

Reaching out to you all cause I really want this batch to be more drinkable.  

Any thoughts?  Should I bottle tomorrow on schedule despite the taste?

Should I stir it up in hopes if getting better fermentation and taste?

Thanks for your help.

Tim

4a7dae45-1c9c-4478-8a2a-12a51bdf80a1.jpg

Sorry to hear that. I'm fairly new at this myself, and have had a couple batches that didn't taste too good. I didn't let that discourage me. I can't say if anything is wrong, but it looks like the yeast is still fermenting-mine looks like this after a few days now-What ingredients are you using? How was the temperature while it was brewing? Did you open the keg during the past 3 weeks?

Hopefully someone will be able to chime in with better advice.

um, need some clarification here...are you saying the BEER has that vinegar/apple taste or the  krousen had that taste?

as far as the vinegar bit: normally cause by bacteria [lactobacillia] gives it that vinegar taste. also, it may be an indication that oxygen is getting into your beer.

as far as the apple bit: indicates your beer is too young, and can be resolved by conditioning. to fix this part, warm up the beer to about 74* or so and let it finish out. let it sit on the yeast cake a wee bit longer, and give the yeast cake a stir. It will all settle out again.