Mr.Beer Community
Sign in to follow this  
ttpratt

Low temperatures & fermentation

Because of this extremely cold weather my heat pump is having trouble keeping up.  I started my first ever batch of beer last Sunday and while I managed to keep the temperature about 68 - 70 this morning (day 5 of fermentation) the temperature was 62 in my kitchen, which is where I have the fermenter.  Is everything lost or can I still get an acceptable fermentation.  The temperature is back up to 68 now.  Thanks for all comments and advice.

I'm a noob but from what I understand you are better off getting it too cold than too hot. Too cold and the yeast goes to sleep and too hot and it dies. I think the exceptable temperature range is somewhere between 32 F and 109 F. But again I am noob so don't take my word for it. In your example I wouldn't worry, just let it warm back up. 62 F isn't cold enough to put the yeast to sleep, they may have just been a little more sluggish during that time. And apparently you want to avoid major temperature fluctuation because it causes off flavors and too hot will make it cidery. 

I hear ya though, it was -4 F here this morning. I think I have a handle on it for now but the challenge will be this summer cooling the things. I think warming the kegs is easier than cooling them is going to be. 

What I do to warm mine is fill a 2 liter bottle (or coffee creamer can) up with hot water and sit it beside the LBK. I have my LBKs enclosed though. You can also use a heating pad (get them cheap at the drug store) to heat them up. 

I use my extra shower room as a fermentation room. my house is always around 66f.   I have fermented ales in a chiller box with ice bottles to keep the temp around 62f.  youre fine.

yeast are tough little buggars. now if you let the temp drop to 50 something with ale yeast, they would probably just go to sleep until they warmed up again.

if you were using lager yeast, they like to ferment at low temps.