Mr.Beer Community
BrianBrew

How long to ferment?

I have been reading on the forums that most experienced brewers use the 3-4 method. I am a newbie and was going to ferment my second batch for three weeks. I contacted a Mr. Beer brewmaster and she stated "about 14 is usually sufficient for a good clear beer as long as you are in the proper temperature range. Allowing more than a couple extra days in the fermenter after completion is not productive and the longer the yeast sits dormant on the old yeast after a while the more chance for off flavor formation. Where it really pays to take extra time is in the bottles during the carbonation and conditioning phases".  Does anyone have any thoughts on this?

I have always let all my batches sit for 2 weeks in the LBK and then 3 to 4 in the bottle at room temperature, I have not had any issues doing it this way, some people like the 3/4 method it just depends on your personal preference, and what works best for you. Some times you never know with how things will turn out, I made a batch before the holidays and then forgot about it for about 4.5 weeks in the LBK, it was still fine though when bottled and tasted well, no off flavors at all from autolysis. Then again I think I just got lucky with that one!!

The bigger the ABV and the more HME that is used the longer it will take to ferment, the best method to know if it is ready to bottle is with a hydrometer and three straight readings with no change in the readings.