Mr.Beer Community
Sign in to follow this  
brianwofford

First time with a fruit beer

I'm still a newbie, but loving every minute of making my own beer, and I'm getting ready to brew a batch of the rasberry wheat. I have heard that when brewing a fruit beer you need to be careful and keep an eye on the keg during initial fermentation, I was just looking for some details of what to look for that points to signs of the batch going wrong or making an incredible mess.

Welcome.  Spend some time reading through the forum, especially the stickies at the top of most of the sections.

For a fruit beer, most of us recommend adding the fruit after a week into the fermentation, to get more fruit flavor.  Then let it go another two weeks.  Make sure it's not warmer than 70-72 (the wort, not the room), lower is better.  After 3 weeks, bottle condition at room temp for 4 weeks, chill for 3 days, and enjoy!

It's highly likely that your fruit beer will NOT overflow.  However, placing it on a cookie sheet or inside a plastic tub is a good safeguard.

Brian, I am currently brewing my first batch of fruit beer (High Test Blue recipe) and just added the two cans of blueberries (after 7 days of initial fermentation) on Friday evening. I had some of the same concerns prior to adding the fruit but it has been just fine. I was definitely perving the brew over the weekend to make sure it wasn't getting too wild but haven't noticed anything more than maybe a slight rise in the krausen and a thicker trub (LBK thermometers read 61 degrees in my basement).

Hope it goes well for you!

I agree with Rick.  Yeasties are pretty lazy and will start munching on the simple sugars found in the canned fruit quicker than on the malt, so to preserve flavour it is best to add later.  For the most part, Ive given up on fruits and started using extract as the results are more repeatable.