Mr.Beer Community
Sign in to follow this  
epete28

Super yeast!

I'm brand new to the insanity. I made my first batch 3 days ago. Initially I thought my yeast was bad because it wasn't taking off as I expected. There was activity, the wort was churning and I could see little bubbles rising, but it was slow. After about 30 hours or so though, it went nuts! Krauesen(sp) all the way up into the lid! It has really calmed down now, but I know the magic is still happening. I'm a little obsessed already! Is 30 hours to peak normal?

All is normal. Watch the fermentation temperature, try to keep it mid 60's to 70 or so. Resist the temptation to open the lid and look in. You can find lots of good info here about making your MB brew. Ask questions if you're uncertain about something. We are a friendly group, and welcome to the hobby. Your first batch will not be your best, but you made it and it will taste great regardless. BTW which extract are you making?

I'm making Classic American Light. I haven't opened the lid, I can see just fine looking through with a flashlight. I pitched my yeast at 74°F, but I have no way to monitor it at the moment. 

Welcome. A  cooler helps helps keep the temps where they should be. As Brian said a good temp range to shoot for with ales is 65-70. Although with MB yeast I would pitch no higher than 65 and ferment between 68 and 70. Let it ferment for 3 wks. before bottling. Good Luck!

I appreciate all the tips folks. I'm not expecting to be blown away by this first batch. I'll be happy with "drinkable"! Lol

Welcome! Next time you order, get a stick on thermometer. Very important to keep the temp from getting too high.

Helped a new brewer do CAL and an older refill recently, and was surprised when the CAL fermentation was so active, actually a bit came out the vents.  66 degrees maintained throughout (freezer with temp controller).  It was CAL and a pound of LME.