Mr.Beer Community
Sign in to follow this  
epete28

Escalation speed?

For those that started with the lbk, how long did it take each of you to move up to full sized batches?

About 10 batches in or so, I found myself mixing in some 5 gallon batches here or there, but have settled on 3 gallon AG batches for the most part, though I still use the Mr. B fermenters for 2ish gallon AG batches a good deal.  

I started with 2.5 gallon batches in a glass carboy. . . did about 5 or so before I started with larger kits. cost was more a factor than anything. you get more beer for your money with the 5 gallon kits... just don't be in a hurry. learn all you can. make mr beer kits. then experiment with tweeking them. do some with steeped grains and then hop boils with lme or dme.  study.. learn.. then when you are ready branch out.

Batch size and fermenting vessel can be unrelated.  Lots of posts about people doing 5 gallon batches using two LBKs.  I've been brewing for 2 years, I only do 5 gallon batches now, and every one of them is split between two LBKs (lighter to carry, fit where I want).

More important than size is getting down a process and following it, learning, and progressing at the right speed so you're getting good results.  

You can go to bigger batches whenever you want, but nothing says you ever need to go bigger.  LBK size has a lot of advantages:  faster heating and cooling while brewing, easy to carry, good rate of production for a healthy 2 beers per day and 3-week fermentation cycle, less loss if something goes wrong, etc. 

2 gallons of beer is like a weekend for me. I'm not rushing, but it's inevitable that I'm going bigger at some point. I know someone who's backyard looks like an episode of "Moonshiners"! I'm not trying to get THERE, but he wasn't either! Haha

The LBK is perfect for me for smaller batches(most of the time its just me drinking the beer aside from the occasional party).