Mr.Beer Community
Sign in to follow this  
PJB

Hydrometer to "determine" fermentation completion

Maybe I can receive consensus on my question concerning the use of a hydrometer to test when fermentation is complete. I've read various opinions on this site and I'm hoping to clarify 1 question. I'm fairly new at home brewing and have just been using Mr. Beer's recipes using the HME and the LME additive.

In a scenario of using only a hydrometer to judge when the fermentation is complete, I am unclear about what alcohol % measurement should indicate completion. Per Mr. Beer's guideline, they give a range of alcohol % to expect. That range is fairly broad. Can I expect to be more precise? For example, I'm about finished the fermentation (16 days) of an American Ale and the alcohol reading I get calculates to 3.7% which is in the range Mr. Beer lists for the %. But it could go up to say 4.5% or so.

From reading various posts, the main opinions that I recall are 1) don't worry about it; ferment for 3 weeks and bottle, and 2) take multiple measurements and when you receive the same calculations, the fermentation process is complete.

Any other ideas or confirmation of the 2 opinions stated above?

Thanks all. Your posts accelerate the learning curve of new guys.

To determine when fermentation is complete is not a measurement of Alcohol, it is a measurement of Gravity.  When you first put a batch into the LBK you should take and record the Original Gravity.  After 21 days you take another sample of the beer and check the final gravity,  over a period of 3 days if the FG ( final gravity) is the same for 3 days then fermentation is complete and it is time to bottle.

To determine ABV (alcohol by volume you subtract the FG from the OG and muttliply by 131.  As per Mr.Beer instructions.

Thank you. I confess, I mixed up my semantics which you corrected and also provided a clear answer.