Mr.Beer Community
Sign in to follow this  
jdem

Re-using bottles

i apologize for putting up multiple posts recently, but I have a lot of questions and this is a new but epically fun hobby for me. I noticed on the Mr. Beer website that they say you can use any bottles that at one point held a carbonated beverage. This was a convenient thing for me to learn because I do regularly buy soda bottles. As I have been reading more, i have learned that plastic bottles like this can become ineffective after a certain point. then, i saw that the Mr. Beer website sells plastic caps. 

My actual question is if what goes wrong with the bottles is the bottles themselves or just the caps? The caps are way cheaper to replace. Thanks!

Most guys will tell you the caps go bad and don't seal up tight after so many uses. I've been using plastic Coke/Pepsi bottles for 5 years and never had a problem. What they do to their caps is a mystery to me.

it isnt that the caps WILL go bad..but CAN if made poorly.  Zephyrhills carbonated water bottles for example. the old ones are great! sturdy plastic used for bottle... good threads on them... caps work great. the NEW manufacture has the bottle with thinner plastic. the threads  sometimes don't look cut very well.  add to it the fact that the caps from the small bottles , while they look like the caps from the bigger 1 liter bottles, don't fit the same.

logically this could happen with other bottle manufacturers too..

interesting. good to know. and how do i really know when everything is carbonated? like how hard should the bottles be? is it the same for all beers or all ciders? and is should it carbonate for 2 weeks or 4? I've been reading different things

3 weeks in the LBK, 4 weeks in bottles at room temp.  3-4.  That's the rule.  

Bottles will be rock hard.