Mr.Beer Community
Sign in to follow this  
Travis Eidson

Dumb Question

I am new to brewing, currently brewing my first batch. I have been reading a ton on brewing and on the post and am a little confused. I am following the directions on the American Porter and it had me ferment from 12/26 to 1/2 and then bottle until the 1/16. Is this correct? Should I wait longer? Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Ferment 3 weeks, bottle and let sit for 4 weeks.

Welcome from another new brewer.

• Like 1

Hello.  Welcome aboard.

Going by the guidelines of the experienced people on this forum agree 3-4-3 .. 3 weeks fermenting 4 weeks conditioning and 3 days fridge right before drinking.  Even though documentation of Mr. Beer says sooner than that.  I would stick with the 3-4-3.  Most beer that I brewed just tastes better and better the longer it conditions.  But 100% of the time 3 weeks fermenting is a must. 

• Like 1

Travis Eidson, on 01 Jan 2015 - 7:40 PM, said:

I am new to brewing, currently brewing my first batch. I have been reading a ton on brewing and on the post and am a little confused. I am following the directions on the American Porter and it had me ferment from 12/26 to 1/2 and then bottle until the 1/16. Is this correct? Should I wait longer? Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

from the American porter instructions:

1. Remove the yeast packet from under the lid of the can of hopped malt extract (HME), then place the unopened can in hot tap water.a
  2. Using the measuring cup, pour 4 cups of water into your clean 3-quart or larger pot. Bring water to a boil, and then remove from heat. Open the can of HMEb and pour it into the hot water. Stir until thoroughly mixed. This mixture of unfermented beer is called wort.
  3. Fill keg with cold tap water to the 4-quart mark on the back.c
  4. Pour the wort into the keg, and then bring the volume of the keg to the 8.5-quart mark by adding more cold water. Stir vigorously with the spoon or whisk. d