Mr.Beer Community
McDammit

In need of reassurance

I'm a week into my first batch ever, it's fermenting and everything seems fine. The problem is that due to holiday mayhem, I wont be getting back home (I'm a truck driver) til right around the three week mark for fermenting. If it goes a day or two past is my beer in trouble? I'm making the Oktoberfest lager if that helps.

No, it will be ruined.  Bottle it and mail to:

RickBeer

123 I Will Drink Your Beer Lane

Ann Arbor, MI  48105

I will properly test each and every bottle.

It will be fine.  Asked, and answered, many times on the forum.  A few days over is no issue.  Weeks over is - sitting on the yeast cake for 6 or 8 weeks can impart off flavors.

Thanks for the offer Rickbeer, I'm looking forward to bottling and eventually trying it myself. As a CLOSE second prize I'll let YOU know how it turned out. Lol any comments can be mailed to:

My home brew was delicious court

Winston Salem, NC 27103

Seriously though, thanks.

• Like 1

Honestly, this sounds like a great hobby for a long haul driver.  Mix up a batch, and leave it alone for 3 weeks.  That's ideal.  You won't be tempted to peek and poke at it constantly.

• Like 2

Funny.  I made my first batch today, looked at the calendar and saw mine will be a day or two over by the time I get to bottling it.   Glad I saw this before I posted the same question. 

Yeah, my normal routine, except for the above mentioned holiday mayhem. Has me home every 2 1/2 weeks. I thought it'd be ideal to pursue this hobby. I guess just being precise when setting everything up is key. I walked my wife to be (the one who got me the kit) through the bottling instructions and the DVD, but I WANT TO BOTTLE IT MYSELF!!!!!! Does that make me a terrible person? Lol. She will probably assist in future batches buy I really want this first batch to be ALL my doing.

• Like 1

I ferment almost all of my beers for 3 weeks, so don't worry; soon you will have home brew!