Mr.Beer Community
blaze421

tap water vs boiled bottled water? Which is better to brew with?

I'm new to the home brew scene. Got a LBK kit today, want to start the process, but i'm on the fence if I should use good ol fashioned tap water or what my fiance says and get some bottled water? Sorry about the noob question. The HME I'll be using is Classic American. Any suggestions?

Welcome to your new hobby. I used bottled water because I have some pretty nasty well water. I hear tap water is just fine as long as it is not heavily chlorinated.

If you aren't sure about your water, spend a couple bucks and get some store brand spring water. I'm doing that because I have city water that has enough chlorine that I can smell it. Not overly chlorinated, I reckon, but enough I don't want to lose a batch of beer over $2 worth of water.

We have great tap water where I live, but over time I have come to recognize off flavors that can come from residual chlorine in beers. So unless I have the time to make sure chlorine is gone from my tap water before brewing, the couple of bucks for spring water is worth knowing I can brew great beer if I do everything else right.

just boil the water and chlorine goes away. or leave out out in open containers for 24 hours and again it's gone.

You can eliminate chlorine as Jim says, but chloramine is more common in water supplies and these techniques do not work for it. You can remove chloramine with potassium metabisulfite (Campden tablets) (use Google for details), use carbon filtration, or take the easy way of using spring water.

Not all spring water is created equally. Some is just filtered municipal water, or just tap water that has been bottled. Avoid distilled water.  

• Like 1