Mr.Beer Community
Sign in to follow this  
berty6294

Chilled Beer Too Soon

So I am very new to brewing, and decided to try out a Mr. Beer kit as my first brew. Process has gone smoothly, 2 weeks in keg and tasted good so I bottled and gave it 2 weeks in them. Tasted a bottle and I thought it tasted good so I put my bottles in the fridge.

Today I cracked open a beer to enjoy with my dinner and to my surprise it tasted very poor. Its very hard to explain the taste but I can only imagine it is the yeast I am tasting.

Is it too late for me to move the beer from the fridge back into my fermenting closet? They have been in the fridge for almost 2 weeks.

Any suggestions or help would be greatly appreciated! I am new but very eager to learn! Thanks in advance!

Put them back in the closet and let them sit 4 weeks. Next time ferment for 3 weeks, then bottle and condition for 4.

• Like 4

Did you drink out of the bottle? Not recommended. On the first bottle that you tasted warm, did you reseal it or drink it warm?

When you are done carbonating and conditioning at room temp, make sure they are in the frig for at least 3 days. Then, POUR SLOWLY, taking care not to disturb the trub at the bottom (dead yeast) while you pour, and leave the last 1/4 inch in the bottle.

• Like 1

Look at epete go!  Six months as a homebrewer and now he is answering like a pro.  Thanks epete and RickBeer for keeping up with our new brewers.

• Like 2

The warm taste was right out of the bottle and yes I did reseal it. It is also the same bottle I tasted after being chilled. Could that be my problem? I feel like that is such a rookie mistake.

I feel like the dead yeast shouldn't be in the bottle, because I left the trub in the keg when I bottled.

Is your suggestion popping another bottle and pouring it into a glass to taste? This sounds like a lot of wasted beer, but hey its all part of the learning!

Thank you for the quick responses!