Mr.Beer Community

I am new to home brewing, but have taken to it like a fly to sh*t....  I just can't get enough of watching brewing videos, reading posts and instructions...etc..  So I am still in the "educating" phase.  I have my first batch of the "Classic American Light" fermenting right now, and would like to add some flavoring via, fresh blueberries, lemon zest, and Pomegranite juice and maybe some other spices.  From what I have found so far, I should add 1lb of fruit p/gal of wort shortly after the fermenting has subsided, so about a week in to the process. 

Does anyone have any suggestions as to refute or substantiate this experimental information?

thank you very much for the input.

First batch and you're going all mad scientist.  I strongly recommend you don't.  Make it as is, so you know what it tastes like.

Fresh blueberries, lemon zest and Pomegranite juice, and some other spices?  Interesting combination.  You're basing this off some recipe you found?  I can say that I have never seen someone add pomegranite juice.  How do you see that combining with the blueberry and lemon zest?

If you've done reading, I'm sure you have read about using fresh fruit in beer and how to do that.

Going mad scientist is the #2 reason that people quit homebrewing.  See the link in my signature for the #1 reason.

Good luck with your experiment.

• Like 3

That is correct.  However, adding FRESH fruit can be problematic.  You will need to pasteurize it to prevent nasties from getting into the wort.  You will need to mash it up and heat it to around 170F for 10-15 minutes.  Do not boil it.

Do not expect tons of flavor out of it though, as fruit is pretty much sugar and water and all the sugars will get eaten up.  That is why I tend to use extracts which can be added at bottling.  They allow you to better dial in the impact and once you have that you are guaranteed consistency if you brew that batch again.

• Like 2