Mr.Beer Community
Sign in to follow this  
chevelleguy0

Mr. Beer LBK

Hello everyone I'm very new to home brewing and just bottled my first batch from a Mr. Beer LBK. I was just curious with this setup do I have to buy their pre made cans of hopped malt extract or can I venture into different arenas? Thanks for any help ya'll can provide.

While it's much easier to use our premade cans, you can experiment with other malts, hops, etc. There are many recipes in our Basic/Advanced Recipe subforums, and there is also a great fan-made forum that has a multitude of Mr. Beer recipes. Happy Brewing!

http://www.mrbeerfans.com/ubbthreads/

• Like 2

You can brew anything in almost anything.

As Josh noted, Mr. Beer has refills and lots of recipes.  In addition, you can buy other company's canned HME (hopped malt extract), if designed for 2.5 gallon (or less) batches, or buy a can designed for a 5 gallon batch, make 1/2 of it, and store the other half.

However, note that those that go all mad scientist real quick tend to give up the hobby.  If you make some Mr. Beer refills, then some recipes, then add things like steeped grains, LME/DME and hops, you are more likely to be brewing beer a year from now.

• Like 1

There are many companies that make HME, but our's is the best. ;)

• Like 6

I only made a double 5 gal batch once, my only issue was splitting the hot wort concentrate between the 2 LBKs.

If you get the 5 gal HME you can get another LBK and split it between the 2, saving the storage.

If you do, make sure you will have enough bottles on hand for the 5 gall at the 3 week bottling time. You can get those from Mr B at same time as other LBK if you plan to do that.

While it's much easier to use our premade cans, you can experiment with other malts, hops, etc. There are many recipes in our Basic/Advanced Recipe subforums, and there is also a great fan-made forum that has a multitude of Mr. Beer recipes. Happy Brewing!