Mr.Beer Community
Michael Astfalk

American Light at 3 Weeks Fermentation?

All:

I've received some helpful advice here in another post. One of the things that we talked about was letting the fermentation process go longer, and also maintaining the temp range.

I'm at the end of week three today of the fermentation of my first batch, the American Light beer that came with the kit.

I tasted it last Wednesday and it tasted flat with a sour apple taste. I let it go another week and tasted it today. The temp in the coleman cooler that I have my LBK in is at 71 degrees this morning. It did peak yesterday at 75 when I tried to raise it a bit (it was 68). 

When I tasted it today, it tasted more like flat beer - a bit more bitter than last week. However, it also has a slight vinegar taste to it and my wife thinks it tastes "yeasty". Not bad, but having those tastes to it. It is also a bit darker in color.

Is this beer ready to bottle or did I mess something up with the temperature (maybe reactivated the yeast & boosted the fermentation process?). I don't want to mess with this too much, but I want to do it right. Will the taste & fermentation work itself out after bottling?

I'm not a light beer drinker either - so I'm at a loss when it comes to the taste.

Please let me know if I'm on the right track. I think I'm ready to bottle, but if I have to let it go a little bit longer I can. I don't like it that there is a slight vinegar taste to it though. Afraid I may have messed this up.

Michael

As explained previously, there is absolutely no reason to go beyond 3 weeks fermenting - you gain nothing.  Rarely, with some yeasts, a fermentation will be stuck.  I've never had one.  A flat beer, non-sweet taste tells you, in combination with three weeks, that it is done.  Don't go longer.  There is no way anything darkened up over last week - it doesn't change color.  Perhaps there is more trub in the sample, making it cloudier.