Mr.Beer Community
Sign in to follow this  
BeastYeast

Advice on Next Two Batches Please

My first batch of standard Classic American Light is in it's second week of bottling and my second batch of St. Patricks Irish Stout with robust LME and booster packet is coming up on it's third week in fermentation. I was thinking of playing around with some hops now and would appreciate any input. Here are my ideas for my next two batches.

1st Batch

1 HME Classic American Light

1 DME Pale

1 Packet Booster

1/2ounce Columbus Hops

Whole packet of Safale US-05

3weeks fermentation - 5 weeks bottle - 1week fridge

2nd Batch

1 HME St. Patricks Irish Stout

1 HME Winter Dark Ale

1 DME Smooth

1 Can Dark Sweet Cherries in Syrup

1/2ounce cascade hops

1/2ounce glacier hops

Whole packet of Safale US-50

3weeks fermentation - 2-3months bottle - 1week fridge

As I have no experience with hops I'm not sure on dosage and I'm going off their description on flavor/aroma. I'm worried that the second batch might have too little hops. Ideas?

1)- There is no accounting for taste.

2)- I'll mix just about anything together, if I feel in my gut they have the potential to harmonize.

3)- The results of said mixing may fit into no known category and be a whole new creature.

4)- That creature may be wonderful or it may be crap or it may be something in between.

5)- You'll never know until you try.

6)- Everyone has a different tolerance for risk.

7)- Only you know your own tolerance for risk, hopefully.

• Like 2

1)- There is no accounting for taste.

2)- I'll mix just about anything together, if I feel in my gut they have the potential to harmonize.

3)- The results of said mixing may fit into no known category and be a whole new creature.

4)- That creature may be wonderful or it may be crap or it may be something in between.

5)- You'll never know until you try.

6)- Everyone has a different tolerance for risk.

7)- Only you know your own tolerance for risk, hopefully.