Mr.Beer Community
Sign in to follow this  
mattfly77

Carb drops not working.....

So twice now, on 2 separate batches, I've used carb drops at the recommended rate, and the beer is coming out flat. I'm not a beginner, these 2 batches were my 31st and 32nd batches. The beer tastes great, it's just flat. The temps are right, everything was done per the directions by MB, and it ain't working. I know others on here use them and have no problems so I assume it's me, but I can't figure it out. But, having followed MB's directions and it not providing properly carbonated beer, I've now got 2 cases of flat beer, which isn't cool. Any thoughts? 

Carbonate at 70 degrees for a minimum of 3 weeks. Also, be sure your caps are sealed very tightly. Leave your beer out to continue carbonating. It will eventually carbonate, you just need to give it time.

Table sugar, with the Mr. Beer sugar measurer, worked fine until I switched to batch priming.

I use new plastic caps every time and carb drops never have had any problems bottles always rock hard

I just tried a patriot lager w/ LME smooth that's been conditioning for 6 weeks, rock hard bottles and the beer has very little carbonation and no head. 32oz bottles 2 1/2 carb drops in each bottle.room temp 72. fermented 3 weeks.

I brew mostly stouts and dark ales always beer always has good head to it. I have notice some of the more pale beers i did don't have as good head retention on them but they taste good

Same experience with pale beers having less head retention even though carbonated. Have not found out the impact of adding Dextrin yet, Still in brewing mode fermenting Aztec as lager.

New bottles, new caps, and they've both been in the bottle for at least 6 weeks....absolutely no head, and only a tiny amount of carbonation, and I do mean tiny.....closer to flat than anything.