Mr.Beer Community

As you get into this hobby, you become obsessed.  Obsessed with making beer, obsessed with tasting beer, obsessed with keeping track of everything.  You add bottles, you add LBKs, and pretty soon you don't know which end is up.  

I'm a very organized guy and wasn't going to let things get that crazy (yeah, right).  I made a spreadsheet that is ever-evolving, and questions come up now and then that something like this can handle.  While I'm not going to share the spreadsheet (I may make millions off it someday), I thought I'd share some of the things it does.  Note - I am NOT a spreadsheet expert, this does nothing fancy.  It just keeps things organized.  I give the details below so that you can see what's possible, and say "yeah, I'm not doing that", so at some point when you do it  you can laugh at yourself.

FYI - I use a Google calendar for tracking the age of a beer, I put in when I brew it, an entry 18 days later to check FG, then I add an entry when I bottle it and entries for 4, 6, 8, 10, and 12 weeks.  It's a totally separate calendar (you can have many in Google Calendars) that triggers me to remember things.

The Excel workbook contains multiple sheets (this easily allows you to pull data from one sheet to another).  

Sheet One - Brewed Inventory

It is divided into three sections - Drinkable, Undrinkable (also known as Conditioning), and Empty Bottle Inventory.  Brewed Inventory includes lines for each batch, for example "Rick's Michigan Red".  Within the batch it lists each bottle size I used, and calculates the total ounces.  Example:

Total Qty        Size       Total Oz        Name

31                 12            372.0        Rick's Michigan Red I

1                  16.9          16.9        Rick's Michigan Red I (last)

4                  16.0           64.0       Rick's Michigan Red I

4                  33.8         135.2       Rick's Michigan Red I

Total Oz is a calculated field.