Mr.Beer Community
Sign in to follow this  
Vakko

Noche de Luna comes with 1.2oz of hops?

RECIPE INCLUDES: 
1 Can Aztec Mexican Cerveza HME 
1 Packet Dry Brewing Yeast (under lid of HME) 
2 BrewMax LME SoftPack - Smooth 
1 1.2 oz. Packet Tettnanger Pellet Hops 
1 Muslin Hop Sack 
1 Packet No-Rinse Cleanser 

Do you have this pre-packaged or does the shipping department have to measure this out?

Oops!

That's supposed to be a single 1/2oz. packet of hops.

Sorry for the mistake, and thanks for the catch!

• Like 1

Help! I am a newbie and decided to make Noche de Luna as my second batch.  Unfortunately I followed the recipe using 1.2 ounces of hops. The batch is currently fermenting (has been just a bit over two weeks) so I pulled out the sack of hops and gave it a taste. Still seems pretty cidery at this point so it is hard to tell how it will end up. Any suggestions? Should I dump it and start over or go ahead and bottle and see what happens? I hate to waste a couple of months conditioning just to find out it is undrinkable.

Also thanks to all on this board, I have been reading quite a bit and most of the comments have been very helpful.

Welcome to the forum, we recommend; 3 weeks in the fermenter and 4 in the bottle @ room temp. Never dump beer(unless it smells like a septic tank). It may not be what you intended, but still might turn out to be the best brew you ever make.

Can only speak for myself and I have never tried to make a batch of Noche de Luna but I cannot honestly imagine any reason to "dump" any batch of beer unless the beer itself has become infected or badly spoiled with really undesirable bacteria. All you have done is added more flavor and aroma hops than the recipe calls for... Your accident may in fact improve the flavor. Cannot imagine that the end result will be "undrinkable"... Worse comes to worse  you can always make a second batch with less dry hops and blend the two...

• Like 2