Mr.Beer Community
Sign in to follow this  
Lazarus0428

Dogfish head IPA

Hi I am new to brewing I just started my second batch with the Rose's Rambling Red recipe. I am a fan of DFH 60 minute IPA and was looking to create a recipe similar. I have seen this video on YouTube and was wondering if changing up the hops to ones used in other large recipes would work would make a difference.

Mr. Beer - 60 Minute Pale Ale: https://youtu.be/HXHAp05Grcc

• Like 2

That was a Sierra Nevada clone the guy in the video made, not a DFH 60. The title simply refers to the boil (almost all beers go through a 60 minute boil). The minutes in the DFH 60/90/120/etc IPAs not only refer to the boil, but also the hopping method. Instead of adding a specified amount of hops at intervals, DFH uses a system that continuously adds a small amount of hops every second of the boil.  

That was a Sierra Nevada clone the guy in the video made, not a DFH 60. The title simply refers to the boil (almost all beers go through a 60 minute boil). The minutes in the DFH 60/90/120/etc IPAs not only refer to the boil, but also the hopping method. Instead of adding a specified amount of hops at intervals, DFH uses a system that continuously adds a small amount of hops every second of the boil.  

Why Josh?  Why would they add hops every second when a chart would suggest that you only need to hops at 60, 20, 7, and dry hop?   :D

Why Josh?  Why would they add hops every second when a chart would suggest that you only need to hops at 60, 20, 7, and dry hop?   :D

I don't know, Vakko. I'm not their Brewmaster (though I wish I was...lol).

• Like 1

I don't know, Vakko. I'm not their Brewmaster (though I wish I was...lol).

LOL I was hoping you would explain the advantages of varying the hop schedule instead of just doing the standards 4 spots.

Just a sales gimmick

Pretty much.

So you think there's no advantage to varying your hop schedule outside the standard 4 hard times?