Mr.Beer Community
MichaelL

Another first bottle bomb

Just walked past the spare bedroom which I've been using to bottle condition my Rose's Rambling Red and smelled the unmistakable aroma of beer.  Upon checking the room, I found that the bottom of one of my bottles had given out and broken off (nearly intact).  The towels under the bottles were soaked with beer  :(  (which of course is their purpose on the chance that something like this happens).  I've been using these 22-oz glass bottles for over two years in my MrBeer brewing, but they are far older than that:  they were purchased at my local brew-on-premises and some of them date back over ten years of active use.  Looks like the stretch of unusually hot weather has taken its toll, as I'm sure that room was over 80 degrees on at least two days.  Silly me, I thought I'd already re-located the bottles to my much-cooler basement.

Lesson learned.

Unless you dropped them, 10 years of use would not "stress" the bottles to become brittle.

There are 1000 year old stained glass windows that warm up and cool everyday.

If you're cleaning your bottles with scalding hot water, make sure that you are not rapidly cooling them.  This can cause stress fractures.

• Like 1

That is exactly how I had glass bottles break many years ago, cracked right in a ring around the base. I had over primed them.

• Like 2

Two threads going about bottle bombs. Guess I've just been lucky. They always say it's better to be lucky than good.

• Like 2

Vakko, I wasn't attempting to blame "stress" for the bottle failure, just noting that these were "veteran" bottles that have seen a lot of beer over the years.  I expect that these bottles will continue to render good service for many years to come.   Also, I don't clean with "scalding" hot water as a general rule, nor do I "rapidly" cool them.  Simple warm tap water with a bottle brush and drip dry as a rule.