Mr.Beer Community
leftcoastcanesfan

Warm Weather Brewing

I am relatively new to home brewing. Living in the desert area of Southeast California, it is sometimes difficult to maintain the ideal fermentation temperature for my Mr. Beer system. Is there any type of beer that will tolerate above ideal fermentation temps? Are there any other tips for brewing in a hot climate?

If you're using a LBK, put it in a cooler and keep a frozen water bottle perched on top of it. Change it out in the morning and evening.

• Like 1

There are a lot of posts on the forum on this very topic.  For each environment, you'll find the right number and size of frozen water bottles to rotate, at peak fermentation you'll need more, later on you'll use less.  Shoot to maintain a 65 degree wort temp (not air temp).

You can also build (or buy) a temperature controller for a fridge or freezer.

• Like 5

Or just make saisons...

Or Belgians...

• Like 1

There are a lot of posts on the forum on this very topic.  For each environment, you'll find the right number and size of frozen water bottles to rotate, at peak fermentation you'll need more, later on you'll use less.  Shoot to maintain a 65 degree wort temp (not air temp).

You can also build (or buy) a temperature controller for a fridge or freezer.

Don't let this intimidate you. I was shocked how cheap it was to buy a freezer and a temp controller. The freezer I bought for my fermentation chamber was $75; the one I bought a year ago (for food) I only paid $50. Search local classifieds or CraigsList. The bigger problem for me was convincing my wife that we "needed" a fermentation chamber, hahaha.

The temp controller I bought was $70 new, but I am sure you could find a used one for much less.

With all that said: You definitely do not "need" to do this to make great beer. I swapped ice packs in my laundry room sink twice a day for 2 brews and they came out great! I am just lazy........

Brew On!!!