Mr.Beer Community
Sign in to follow this  
shall

Booster and LME's

I'm new to brewing and the deluxe kit I ordered came with two cans of extract with no boosters.  When you order the kits online they come with a booster pack and even some also come with a LME but mine didn't.  Not 100% sure what they do and why they are needed or not.  Sorry if this has already been answered before.

They increase your fermentables increasing the abv but not so much the taste (well the LME might).  2 cans of HME will make a strong brew and you probably don't need the LME/ boosters

Welcome to the club!! :lol:

Booster adds mouth feel, better head retention, and about 1% alcohol more per pack and no color of taste changes.

LME/DME adds mouth feel, better head retention, some color and flavor depending on the specific pack, and also about 1% added ABV per pack.

The standard cans in the start kit will make pretty light tasting beer, but also will mature more quickly.

I suggest you don't use 2 cans of HME unless you like your beer really bitter, really strong (6-7%), and want to wait longer for it to mature in the bottles.

Try the standard refills/recipes first to see how you like them before modifying.

Many folks try things and get disappointed and stop brewing because of bad outcome.  

If you follow the instructions carefully you are pretty much guaranteed drinkable beer.

The only suggestion that is pretty standard on the forum is to ferment for 3 weeks, and then leave it for 4 weeks in the bottles at room temp before chilling and drinking. After 4 weeks in the bottle, it will continue to improve but you may just like it and drink it anyway  ;) .

It may not be your favorite style yet but that you can take care of later using different recipes.

There are many standard refills to try. The "deluxe" version will be more malty tasting.

Each refill/recipe has description indicating how bitter (IBU) and alcoholic (ABV) and color (SRM) it is.