Mr.Beer Community
Sign in to follow this  
slym2none

It finally happened!

I had my first over-flow on my LBK, and I didn't even know it! This was from a "washed" batch of yeast (kinda-sorta, but not really washed) that I re-used on an Oktoberfest-style ale that I am using Nottingham on, originally was used in the Blonde I recently bottled. Anyway, I was going to change the ice-bottles in my cooler and noticed the LBK looked different somehow. I got closer and could see where it was wort that apparently overflowed during the yeast taking off. That was DAYS ago, is the thing. The beer is past high krausen now, so should I risk taking the lid off to clean & sanitize it? Or just leave it be and hope for the best?

:(

I'd leave it.  But then I'm fairly new to this deal.  Probably wouldn't hurt to clean the outside, though.

When my LBKs overflowed, I would generally take a towel and some q-tips, dip in sanitizer, remove the lid to clean out the air passages, and then wipe the outside down.  The biggest concern IMHO is if the air vents are blocked by the crusted krausen.

4993882989_1130732a15_z_d.jpg

Yeah, mine looked NOTHING like that, fortunately. I think it was more maybe from the churning-up the wort went through, maybe splashed up a few times and some ran out of the air-passages.

I did clean up the outside (don't want mold-growth or to attract ants) but left the lid alone.

I would do what you did , but also loosen the lid a couple of times to insure that the LBK could breath and tighten the lid  but not seat it. (But that's just me)

I brew a lot of stouts and usually just sanitize an unused tooth brush and clean the vent holes

So, what can I expect when I bottle this beer and pour a RIS brew right on top of this yeast-cake? Something like swenocha's pic?

*LOL*