Mr.Beer Community
Sign in to follow this  
GuyWithBrew

Imperial Red Ale Recipe?

Hey, guys, I'm looking for a recipe for the Autumn seasonal Imperial Red Ale (it doesn't exist on the Mr. Beer site).  Is it the same as a standard Mr. Beer recipe, only substituting the Safale s-04 packet for the regular packet of yeast? 

And would this brew benefit by the inclusion of an extra hops packet?  Or is that simply a matter of personal choice?  I'm kinda new to this brewing stuff and very curious!

The Imperial Red is brewed just like our other beers, but it uses a different yeast. We don't usually do recipes for the Seasonals because they are brewed to style and taste great with no enhancements or additions. But that's not to say you can't "dress it up" if you wanted to. Adding more hops wouldn't hurt, but it is just personal preference.

is that an irish red ale?

No. It's an Imperial Red Ale.

• Like 1

Brewer's Association Style Guide

Imperial Red Ale Imperial Red Ales are deep amber to dark copper/reddish brown. A small amount of chill haze is allowable at cold temperatures. Fruity-ester aroma is medium. Hop aroma is intense, arising from any variety of hops. Medium to high caramel malt character is present. Hop flavor is intense, and balanced with other beer characters. They may use any variety of hops. Hop bitterness is intense. Alcohol content is very high and of notable character. Complex alcohol flavors may be evident. Fruity-ester flavors are medium. Diacetyl should not be perceived. Body is full. Original Gravity (ºPlato) 1.080 - 1.100 (19.3 - 23.7) ● Apparent Extract/Final Gravity (ºPlato) 1.020 - 1.028 (5.1 - 7.1) ● Alcohol by Weight (Volume) 6.30% - 8.40% (8.00% - 10.60%) ● Bitterness (IBU) 55 - 85 ● Color SRM (EBC) 10 - 17 (20 - 34)