Mr.Beer Community
Sign in to follow this  
rickrd

Newb questions

Ok, been reading a ton on here. Thanks to all for the info. I'm an early addict at all of this and its really got my interest to get better at it.

Anyways.

The gist I get is to wait 3 weeks before bottling.

I'm now at day 14. OG was 1.044. Took a SG reading about 5 days ago and it was 1.014.

Took one today and its 1.011. Yes, I read to not waste so I taste it. Tastes pretty good! Like a beer should!

Its Muntons Premium Canadian Style Beer ME which I brewed to make 2.5 gallons.

It doesn't look like anything's going on in the tank bubble wise, like it was initially. Should I be seeing any foam or anything?

Is there an SG I should aim for? like 1.004 I think I read? or just wait another week, take a reading and bottle away.

Thanks in advance for your suggestions.

Rick

Welcome to the forums, Rick.  I'm still pretty new at this, but I'm sure someone w/a lot more know-how will be along soon to help you out.  Happy Brewing! :)

• Like 1

Thanks Anthony. My only regret is I didn't start learning this earlier in life. At 51 I still can brew my fair share I think. It's really is cool though. So much to learn!

• Like 3

It truly is a lot of fun.  It's such a feeling of accomplishment when you sit down and have a bottle of something that you brewed.  It's even crazier when you realize that you are getting a nice buzz off of your beer!  Once you get the technique down, then the real fun begins--coming up with your own recipes.   You definitely started at a good time b/c of the new offerings with grains.  Have fun with this; it's VERY rewarding!  

• Like 2

1 hour ago, rickrd said:

Ok, been reading a ton on here. Thanks to all for the info. I'm an early addict at all of this and its really got my interest to get better at it.

Anyways.

The gist I get is to wait 3 weeks before bottling.

I'm now at day 14. OG was 1.044. Took a SG reading about 5 days ago and it was 1.014.