Mr.Beer Community
Sign in to follow this  
Coop

Toxic taste

I brewed my first batch ever followed all directions. After 3 weeks of carbonation I refrigerated all bottles. I drank 1 bottle that same night and it wasn't bad. Did have a tinge of a strange after taste. 1 week of refrigeration later and all bottles were undrinkable. Strong chemical taste. Any help?

I used well water. I got some advice on this through another post. I wasn't sure where to post my problem due to my noobie status in the forums. But I'm still very appreciative of any other input. I think my beer was pretty green and definitely needed more conditioning. However the bad taste was more medicinal or "band aid like" than yeasty. But I'm no expert. The first bottle was a little yeasty on the finish. The bottles I left refrigerated were far worse and you could taste it from start to finish. Needless to say they got dumped. I have a batch of Aztec bottled right now. I sampled one after 2 weeks and it had that similar finish. More yeasty. I'm going to wait 5 or 6 weeks before trying the rest to see if it was simply too green or if it's something else.

Try using different water (not distilled). One of the main reasons for a band-aid or medicinal flavor is from chlorine/chloramines (these chemicals create chlorophenols), which are common in tap water. Even private wells can have some chlorine/chloramine through the leeching of surrounding water supplies. You can usually get inexpensive testing kits to test your well water for chlorine and/or chloramines.