Mr.Beer Community
Styx

Yes another new guy

Yep, another noob here to bother you with a bunch of questions.  My Dad and I have 3 LBKs going right now. American Light, Hacked Rootbeer ( for my daughter) and a Czech Pilsner. Fermentation process for about 3 weeks on the AL and 1 week for the others. Temp has averaged around 69-70 degrees. According to the instructions and all that I've read we should be able to bottle the AL this weekend. 

Any tips or suggestions.?

• Like 1

Cold Crashing is done by putting your LBK in refrigerator for 2 to 3 days.  This will help to clear your beer and compact the Trub in the bottom of the LBK.

I am not in the "Cold Crashing" camp as I have never done it and my beers all seem to turn out fine without it.  If you are careful when bottling and you don't disturb your LBK much, you won't end up with trub in the bottles until the last bottle anyway.  When your bottles are ready to drink, you need to refrigerate for at least three days.  Then carefully pour your beer and stop pouring when you see the line of yeast (trub) from the bottom of the bottle come to the neck of the bottle.  However, many on this forum do cold crash their beers.  It is a preference thing.

• Like 4

3 hours ago, BDawg62 said:

Cold Crashing is done by putting your LBK in refrigerator for 2 to 3 days.  This will help to clear your beer and compact the Trub in the bottom of the LBK.

Even 24 to 36 hours is good for most beers. If the beer has fermented for 2 weeks total, it's likely to be pretty clear anyway. The action of cooling helps precipitate the remaining haze out and packs things pretty tight at the bottom. Less mess and more consistent bottling (assuming bottle priming). Some beers need it worse than others and some will definitely be better with longer crash time, but it's a good habit to get into, I think.