Mr.Beer Community
Sign in to follow this  
Nathan08

Expired American Porter

Hello again everyone!

I have read a few posts about expired kits, but I thought I would throw this on here anyway, as it is my first time brewing American Porter so I don't have any experience to go by. 

Basically, the store near me is no longer going to carry Mr. Beer products, so they had a big sale.  I picked up six kits for a very good price, two of which were expired (Early 2015 I think): Bewitched Amber Ale and American Porter. For the price I paid, I figured, "why not try".  I started both kits each in their own 8L LBK. I have brewed Bewitched Amber Ale before and after 2 days. it is progressing along just like last time.  As for my Porter brew, I am 24 hours into the process, and it doesn't appear to be doing anything at all.  The yeast looks to be sitting on the top.  No bubbles, no temp change (sitting at room temp).  Could my yeast no longer be good?  I am going to give it another 48 hours to see what it does. Anyone brew Porters before?  Does it usually take very long to get to high krausen? If nothing happens after another 2 days, is it salvageable, or should I just dump it at that point and move on to a non-expired kit?

As always, any info would be greatly appreciated.  :) 

• Like 1

Even if nothing happens in a couple days, don't dump it. Try some fresh yeast (new packet) in it.

• Like 1

At this point you are nearly 40 hours in.  If nothing is still happening in your Porter, I would rehydrate one of my other yeast packets and pour it in.  There is no way of knowing how these kits were stored and under what conditions.  Since they were old already, there is a good chance that the yeast is dead.  Why rehydrate the new packet of yeast you may say?  Rehydrating will let you know it is viable or if it is dead before pitching.