Mr.Beer Community
Sign in to follow this  
Snuffy

My situation

My story:

SWMBO gave me a Mr. Beer kit from Amazon that came with bottles and pilsner and cerveza hme's....

5/15/2016 Mixed 1st ever beer batch using Mr. Beer ….Grand Bohemian Pilsner  HME…..barefoot…no extras…. should make ~ 3.3 to 3.5 % ABV,

I am a Chemistry Tech and I have OCD ...I used both the MRB sanitizer for 10 minutes and then Star-San.....I am 100% positive there is no chance of infection....

I ferment between 66 - 68 °F ; checking with 3 different temperature measuring devices and averaging ....

5/23/2016 after  looking online and getting the wild hair,...I purchased a 1 gallon Craft A Brew Oktoberfest kit …

5/29/2016 Mixed 1 gallon kit Oktoberfest from Craft A Brew…  had to steep grains and add hop pellets….stunk up the house,… SHMBO declared never again in her kitchen…… 

6/2/2016 bought a 2nd LBK… and bottling wand,...and mixed batch Chug-a-lugger recipe – to use up the  Aztec Mexican Cerveza HME that came with the original kit…  

6/4/2016 Bottled the GB pilsner using MRB 740ml plastic bottles……2 carbo drops per bottle….sample tasted like cider…

The bottles condition at 75°F....+ or - 1°F

6/19/2016 bottled  1 gallon Craft a Brew Oktoberfest into 12oz bottles…..used 1 Domino Dot per bottle..

sample tasted GREAT…no cider…. a flat beer flavor.

6/24/2016 tried a bottle of the GB pilsner that I put the fridge for 3 days , since it was barefoot I assumed a conditioned beer.....but a very cidery taste…had to pour it in the drain…… not happy.

6/24/2016 bottled Chug a lugger into 12, 22oz bottles, 3 dots per bottle………sample tasted like cider… again, not happy.

IF, and I mean IF….  after 4 weeks, the MRB batches taste like cider and the CAB doesn’t after 4 weeks….I will never use MRB products again…..

Bottled Pilsner on 6/4, 6/21 bottled. Tasted Chug a Luger before bottling.

Answer - lack of adequate / no conditioning, need 6 weeks on the lighter ones. Oktoberfest is darker.