Mr.Beer Community

I am about to start my third batch and wanted to play around a bit.  While the kits that don't include lme pouches seem to brew fine,  all the recipes that add fruit or other spices call for them.  I guess I am wondering  what the result is in omitting the lme.  Only because I am still a rookie and not looking to add another 12 bucks to my next batch as it will likely be a disaster anyway! 

I plan to use them in the future, but I am unsure what their necessity is in the process.  Thanks for reading! 

There is no necessity.  And not every recipe calls for them.  They add ABV and body, and some taste (depending on the LME).  They don't cost $12 so I don't know where you are getting that figure.

As far as disaster batches, if you follow the 3-4 rule (3 weeks fermenting with wort temp at 65 or so, followed by 4 weeks carbonating and conditioning in bottles at 70 or higher), then 3 days in the fridge, and follow the directions, you will have good 3.1% beer.  LME pack makes it 4.2%.

• Like 2

LME will add body to the beer and make it taste better in my humble opinion. It will also raise the ABV.  I add a pound of LME to just about all of my batches you can pick it up at your local home brew shop for around $3.00 a pound if you have one by you.

• Like 1

Mr. Beer recommends the LME Softpacks in recipes for improved body/flavor and head retention.  Also, more malt = more alcohol so that can be a factor as well.  When crafting your own recipe, they are also handy for adjusting color and taste of the finished beer.  If you omit them from a Mr. Beer recipe, expect a call from MRB JoshR who will expect a full explanation of why you chose not to use them.;)    

• Like 1

Welcome to the forums! :)  Just out of curiosity, which recipes have you brewed already and which one are you making as your third?

• Like 1