Mr.Beer Community
Sign in to follow this  
C-Note 1959

Low temp fermentation question

Hi all. I'm new to this brewing thing and was wondering what the low end temperature in my fermentation area can be and still get good results? Main reason for asking is that my house temp varies from day to night as the furnace runs different from day 70 deg. to night 62deg. Will proper fermentation still take place?

Also is a hydrometer necessary? I would like to do a couple batches before investing more money into a hobby that may not be my thing.

Thanks for any help.

First off, welcome to the hobby!  You'll find lots of good help on this forum!

I personally keep all my fermenters in my basement.  I have a few thermometer stickers that I've put on my LBK's to know the temperature.  The outside temperature is not the temperature inside the LBK.  Inside it's warmer, so I make sure my LBK's are in 62-68 degree room and I haven't had any issues.

Well, I take that back.  One time I though it was a good idea to keep an LBK upstairs where it was 70+... let's just say that was a mess.

I'm sure other guys will post and give you their feedback as well.  I would look at @RickBeer signature line for some great reads.

Welcome to your new addiction.

• Like 1

Oh, and the hydrometer is only useful if you're wanting to find out the ABV of your beer.  I find it nice to know how much alcohol is in the beer I just made, but it's not necessary since you're making recipes from here.  They tell you what ABV you can kind of expect.  I would get a hydrometer when you start making your own recipes and want to experiment.

• Like 1